New 19-member DART Commission held first meeting Oct. 3

Posted on October, 3 2017

DART's 19 member governments officially sat their new representatives on the DART Board of Commissioners at their first meeting at noon on Tuesday, Oct. 3, 2017. Outgoing commissioners were recognized prior to the meeting. 

DART’s new governance structure includes one representative and one alternate from each DART member government. These representatives and alternates are as follows:


Commissioner: John Hathaway, Council Member
Alternate: Bobby Jones

Commissioner: Vernon Wiley II, Council Member
Alternate: Scott Henry

Commissioner: Gary Lorenz, Mayor
Alternate: Bobbi Bentz, Council Member

Commissioner: Doug Elrod, Council Member
Alternate: Marketa Oliver, City Manager

Commissioner: Ruth Randleman, Mayor
Alternate: Andy Lent, City Administrator

Commissioner: Michael McCoy, Council Member
Alternate: John Edwards, Council Member

Des Moines:
Commissioner: Frank Cownie, Mayor
Alternate: TBD

Commissioner: Michael Just, Council Member
Alternate: Kyle Michel, City Clerk

Commissioner: Mike Backous, Council Member
Alternate: Kristy Trzeciak, City Clerk

Commissioner: Jeremy Hamp, Council Member
Alternate: Kelley Brown, City Administrator

Commissioner: Paula Dierenfeld, Mayor
Alternate: Tom Cope, Council Member

Commissioner: Jon Woods, Mayor
Alternate: Joe Crook, Council Member

Pleasant Hill:
Commissioner: Sara Kurovski, Mayor
Alternate: J. Benjamin Champ, City Manager

Polk City:
Commissioner: Jason Morse, Mayor
Alternate: Jeff Walters

Polk County:
Commissioner: Angela Connolly, County Supervisor
Alternate: Steve Van Oort, County Supervisor

Commissioner: Gerald Lane, Mayor
Alternate: Stephanie Herbold, City Clerk

Commissioner: Tom Gayman, Council Member
Alternate: Robert Andeweg, Mayor

West Des Moines:
Commissioner: Steven Gaer, Mayor
Alternate: Tom Hadden, City Manager

Windsor Heights:
Commissioner: Zac Bales-Henry, Council Member
Alternate: Joseph Jones


The new representatives replace DART’s previous nine member Board of Commissioners who represented seven districts throughout the DART region and two at-large seats. The new structure was approved by all DART member communities following the unanimous recommendation of an independent task force in May.

Commissioners who are no longer serving on the board were recognized in an informal lunch prior to the noon meeting. Those commissioners are:

Christine Hensley: District 3, Des Moines
Gaye Johnson: At-Large, Polk County
Skip Moore: District 5, Des Moines and Pleasant Hill
Joann Muldoon: District 6, Des Moines
Steve Peterson: District 2, Clive, West Des Moines and Windsor Heights

Trip Planner
Next DART Bus